What is a Free Hit in Cricket

What is a Free Hit in Cricket? Its rules, regulations and restrictions

In the game of cricket, a “Free Hit” is a term that has gained significant prominence in recent years. It is a rule that offers a unique advantage to the batting team, but it comes with specific conditions and restrictions. You will find the complete details about Free Hit of Cricket in this article.

When was Free Hit Introduced in Cricket

The free hit rule was introduced in cricket in 2008 by the ICC. It penalizes bowlers for specific no-ball offenses, granting the batting team a free hit. During a free hit, only certain modes of dismissal apply, like run-out and hitting the ball twice. It enhances limited-overs cricket fairness and excitement. See also: How To Bowl A Leg Cutter In Cricket?

The Origin of Free Hit Rule

The concept of a Free Hit was introduced to cricket to curb the menace of no-balls and to ensure that bowlers do not overstep the crease while delivering the ball. This rule was first implemented in limited-overs cricket to maintain the fairness of the game.

What Triggers a Free Hit?

A Free Hit is awarded to the batting team when a bowler delivers a no-ball. A no-ball occurs when a part of the bowler’s front foot crosses the popping crease, indicating an illegal delivery. Other factors, such as a high full toss above waist height, can also result in a Free Hit.

The Significance of a Free Hit

When a Free Hit opportunity is granted, the batsman’s sole means of getting out includes the possibilities of a run-out, obstructing the field, or hitting the ball twice.. In all other circumstances, the batsman can’t be out, even if they get caught or bowled. See Also: Longest Six in Cricket History

Restrictions on the Bowler

During a Free Hit, the bowler must deliver the ball with the same field placements as the previous delivery, and the fielding team cannot change positions. The bowler also cannot dismiss the batsman through a no-ball, except for run-out or obstructing the field.

When Does the Free Hit End?

A Free Hit ends when a legal delivery is bowled, meaning the batsman either scores a run or a dot ball. If the batsman takes a run, the next ball is not a Free Hit. See Also: The Fastest Century in ODI Cricket

Free hit out rules in cricket

“In the sport of cricket, a ‘Free Hit’ is granted to the batting team as a consequence of certain bowling violations, commonly associated with a bowler overstepping the crease, known as a ‘no-ball’. During a Free Hit, the batsman’s only avenues for dismissal include getting run out, attempting to hit the ball twice, obstructing the field, or handling the ball.

This rule ensures that the batting team gains a significant advantage, as they cannot be dismissed by any other means on that delivery, except for the mentioned exceptions. It encourages aggressive batting and penalizes bowlers for overstepping the crease.

Can a Bowler Change Side on Free Hit

In cricket, a bowler cannot change sides for a free hit unless the striker changes. This rule, set by the International Cricket Council (ICC), ensures fairness by letting the batsman anticipate the delivery based on the bowler’s position during the previous no-ball or delivery.


In summary, a Free Hit in cricket is a unique opportunity for the batting team to capitalize on a bowler’s mistake, primarily a no-ball. It allows the batsman to play without the fear of getting out in most conventional ways. While it has added excitement to the game, it also emphasizes the importance of discipline for bowlers, as a no-ball can prove costly not only in terms of runs but also in momentum during a match.


1. Can a bowler be dismissed on a Free Hit?

No, the batsman cannot be sent off on the delivery itself, except in cases of run-out, obstructing the field, or hitting the ball twice.

2. Can a Free Hit be called for a wide ball?

No, a Free Hit is only awarded for no-balls or specific high full tosses.

3. Is there a limit to the number of Free Hits in an over?

No, there are no constraints on the number of Free Hits that can be provided within a single over.

4. Does a Free Hit affect the batsman’s individual score?

Yes, any runs scored off a Free Hit contribute to the batsman’s individual score and the team’s total runs.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *